Naruto Shippuden: Set 11
Viz Media

Naruto Shippuden: Set 11

Regular price $14.97 Sale price $29.98 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Product Description

Naruto Shippuden Uncut Set 11 (DVD) The episodes in this set bridge the end of season five and the beginning of season six of the long-running hit Naruto Shippuden. Episodes 127 through 133 (the "Jiraiya's Prophecy" arc) show Naruto's "Pervy Sage" teacher as a student, and as an adult facing down some former pupils who joined the evil Akatsuki. It's fun to see a young Jiraiya making the exact same mistakes Naruto would make years later, but these episodes, like the "Kakashi Gaiden Special" early in season five, are essentially filler, and fans may grow impatient with them. They don't advance the main storyline, which has finally reached the confrontation between Sasuke and his older brother Itachi, a battle the story has been building toward since the first Naruto series. Itachi attempts to steal Sasuke's eyes to perfect his powerful Mangekyo Sharingan technique in a grotesque prelude to the face-off. Director Hayao Date and his crew employ dramatic fire and lightning effects to make the duel between the Uchiha brothers as exciting as it should be, and voice actors Yuri Lowenthal (Sasuke) and Crispin Freeman (Itachi) bring an effective sense of hatred and shattered affection to the dialogue. But the aftermath of the duel suggests Itachi's vicious abuse of his brother and his murderous rampage that destroyed the Uchiha clan may have not been the product of megalomaniacal cruelty. Fans have been waiting for years for this magical, fratricidal fight. But despite the dramatic outcome, Sasuke, Naruto, and the rest of the cast still have many adventures ahead: these episodes mark the halfway point of Naruto Shippuden. (Rated T+ Older Teen, but suitable for ages 12 and older: violence, minor risqué humor, grotesque imagery, alcohol use) --Charles Solomon (127. Tales of a Gutsy Ninja ~Jiraiya Ninja Scroll~ Part 1, 128. Tales of a Gutsy Ninja ~Jiraiya Ninja Scroll~ Part 2, 129. Infiltrate! The Village Hidden in the Rain, 130. The Man Who Became God, 131. Activate! Sage Mode, 132. In Attendance, the Six Paths of Pain, 133. The Tale of Jiraiya the Gallant, 134. Invitation to the Party, 135. The Longest Moment, 136. The Light & Dark of the Mangekyo Sharingan, 137. Amaterasu, 138. Demise, 139. The Mystery of Tobi, 140. Fate)